IETHICS Section Book Award

Each year, the INTERNATIONAL ETHICS SECTION will award one prize of $200 for the best book published in the field of international ethics at the International Ethics section business meeting at the ISA Convention. The award recognizes a book that excels in originality, significance and rigor in the broadly defined field of international ethics. The subject matter of the book can be, but is not limited to, international descriptive ethics, international normative ethics, metaethics, comparative ethics, international religious ethics, international political theory, and international legal theory.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.

  1. Recipients must be current members of ISA.
  2. Books eligible for the award must fall into the broadly defined category of international ethics. This includes, but is not limited to, books on international descriptive ethics, international normative ethics, metaethics, comparative ethics, international religious ethics, international political theory, and international legal theory.
  3. Eligible books can be either single or multi-authored. Edited collections will not be eligible. Textbooks, translations and memoirs are not eligible.
  4. Books to be considered must be published within a two year period preceding the year of the competition. For instance, to be considered for the 2023 prize, books must be published in either 2021 or 2022. ‘Published’ means that the year listed in the book itself must be one of these two.
  • A $200.00 (USD) cash prize is awarded to the recipient along with a plaque.
  • The chair of each IDSS sponsored/co-sponsored panel, in consultation with the discussant, submits to the award committee the best book of their respective panel. The award committee reviews all nominated papers and selects the best paper presented at the Annual Convention.
  • Authors can self nominate if they so wish. To be considered for the 2023 prize, books must be published in either 2021 or 2022.
  • If you (or for publishers, your press) have published a book that falls within the time frame and the relevant subject matter category and you would like it considered for the prize, please send a copy of the book to each member of the committee.
  • Detailed regulations for the award shall be posted on the Section webpage and Facebook page.
  • Books nominated for the 2023 Book Award should be submitted to all members of the Selection Committee by October 1st. Additionally, nominees must notify all Committee Members about their application once their book has been submitted.
  • All books must be in print by October 1, 2022, and past nominations will not be reconsidered.
  • Only printed copies of the books (no ebooks) will be accepted. Books nominated will not be returned.


Congratulations to the 2022 recipient of the IETHICS Section Book Award, Sinja Graf, for the book The Humanity of Universal Crime: Inclusion, Inequality, and Intervention in International Political Thought​! See the previous recipients below.

Year Recipient  Title
2021 Yvonne Chiu Conspiring with the Enemy: The Ethic of Cooperation in Warfare
2020 Murad Idris War for Peace: Genealogies of a Violent Ideal in Western and Islamic Thought
2019 Catherine Lu Justice and Reconciliation in World Politics
2018 Ariel Colonomos Selling the Future: The Perils of Predicting Global Politics
2018 Andrew Linklater Violence and Civilisation in the Western States-System
2018 Eleanor Davey Idealism Beyond Borders: The French Revolutionary Left and the Rise of Humanitarianism 1954-1988
2015 Joseph H. Carens The Ethics of Immigration (Oxford University Press, 2013)
2014 Daniel Philpott Just and Unjust Peace: An Ethic of Political Reconciliation, (Oxford University Press, 2012)
2013 Alex Bellamy "Massacres and Morality: Mass Atrocities in an Age of Civilian Immunity (Oxford University Press, 2012)"
2012 Bronwyn Leebaw "Judging State-Sponsored Violence, Imagining Political Change" (Cambridge University Press, 2011)
2011 Walter F. Baber and Robert V. Bartlett "Global Democracy and Sustainable Jurisprudence: Deliberative Environmental Law" (MIT Press, 2009)
2010 Tarik Kochi "The Other’s War: Recognition and the Violence of Ethics" (Birbeck Law Press, 2009)

Committee Members

Neil Renic | Chair
Willy Brandts Vej5, 1MF
Kobenhavn SV

Dr Raul Salgado Espinoza | Member
Facultad Latioamericana de Ciencias Sociales: FLACSO-Ecuador
Calle La Pradera E7-174 y Av. Diego de Almagro. Torre II. Piso 6 (Ofic: 653)
Código Postal 170518
Quito, Ecuador

Eglantine Staunton | Member
Department of International Relations
Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs
ANU College of Asia and the Pacific
Hedley Bull Building
130 Garran Road
Acton ACT 2601


Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates