Yale H. Ferguson Award

The Yale H. Ferguson Award, presented by International Studies Association-Northeast, recognizes the book that most advances the vibrancy of international studies as a pluralist discipline. Any book or edited volume published within the field of international studies in the previous calendar year is eligible for consideration.
LEARN MORE about Dr. Ferguson at the bottom of the page.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA
  2. Members of the award committee, as well as the current program chair for ISA-NE, are ineligible for the award.


  • The recipient will receive $250 and a plaque.

Selection Process

Books are selected on two criteria:
  1. That it makes an outstanding contribution to concept-formation, theoretical analysis, or methodological issues in the study of world politics
  2. That it contributes to the status of international studies as an intellectually pluralist field

Apply or Nominate for the Award

  • Nominations should be emailed to the committee chair accompanied by a brief letter explaining why a work deserves consideration for the award. Authors may nominate themselves.
  • A copy of each book must be sent to each member of the committee, with the line “Yale H. Ferguson Award, c/o” at the top of each address.
  • Nominations are due by June 15th and books must be received by July 1, 2021.

About Yale H. Ferguson

Yale H. Ferguson, a Professor at Rutgers-Newark, contributed over many years to the intellectual vibrancy of the International Studies Association-Northeast. During his distinguished career, he mentored a long and diverse list of graduate students and junior faculty from schools around the country. Although he began his career as a Latin American specialist, his philosophic and historical interests soon transformed him into one of the most visible theorists in international relations. In his long and productive collaboration with Richard Mansbach, Ferguson published seven books and numerous articles and book chapters dealing with the evolution of the discipline and its theoretical foundations and the collaboration continues with two additional books forthcoming. Beginning in the 1970s and influenced by the pioneering work of Thomas Kuhn and James Rosenau, Ferguson and Mansbach rejected realism and its emphases on power, rationality, and state-centricity, questioned the immutability of the Westphalian state and its role in global politics, and denied the contention that facts and values were separable. Instead, values were regarded empirical facts that determined the questions theorists posed and the selection of other facts in the course of strategically simplifying a complex political universe. These concerns make it difficult to “label” Ferguson or this body of scholarship. Its criticism of state-centric premises led some to define it as “liberal,” even “utopian.” Its emphasis on history as a means of discerning change and discarding the static claims of realist thinking predicted constructivist thought, while its focus on changing boundaries, interdependence, and transnationalism predictably led to contemporary globalization discourses. Perhaps, the best description of Ferguson is that he is a genuine “pluralist.”


Congratulations to Cara Daggett of Virginia Tech University, recipient of the 2020 Yale H. Ferguson Award for her book The Birth of Energy: Fossil Fuels, Thermodynamics and the Politics of Work (Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 2019). The committee also awarded an Honorable Mention to Benjamin Meiches (University of Washington-Tacoma) for his book The Politics of Annihilation: A Genealogy of Genocide (Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota Press, 2019). Congratulations, Cara and Ben!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Andrew Ross | Chair
Ohio University

Meet the Committee


Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates