ISA-West Undergraduate Paper Award

The award recognizes the most outstanding papers presented at the ISA-West annual meeting.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.

  1. Recipients must be current members of ISA.
  2. Recent award winners (within the past three years) and current executive board members are not eligible.
  • Recipients will receive a certificate and $50 gift card to
  • The ISA-West awards committee makes its selections among the papers presented at the ISA-West conference each autumn.
  • The committee will convene when three or more papers have been submitted.
  • Winners will be following year's ISA-West conference.
  • Presenters may nominate themselves, and panel chairs and discussants may also nominate candidates.
  • The deadline to nominate or submit a paper presented at the September 2020 conference is June 30, 2021. Papers should be submitted by e-mail directly to Douglas Becker, Paper Awards Chair.
  • All submissions should also include institutional affiliation and rank (faculty, graduate, undergraduate) in the subject line.


Congratulations to the 2016 recipient of the ISA West Undergraduate Paper Award, Priscilla T. Torres, for for "Beyond Victimization: Assessing Relief and Recovery Under UNSCR 1325"! See the previous recipients below.

Year Recipient Title
2016 Priscilla T. Torres Beyond Victimization: Assessing Relief and Recovery Under UNSCR 1325
2012 Shiloh Rainwater Race to the North: China’s Arctic Strategy and Its Implications


Luba Levin-Banchik | Chair
September 2019-September 2020
San Diego State University

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates