Teresia Teaiwa Student Paper Award [FTGS/GDS]

Teresia Teaiwa (1968-2017) was a feminist committed to decolonizing scholarly knowledge. Teresia’s many and diverse contributions were framed by a feminist commitment to examining the relationships between gender, militarism and the militarization of Oceania as well as by an intention to retrieve a cosmopolitan vision of Oceania that acknowledged the region as a nucleus of international politics and culture. Moreover, Teresia held a deep commitment to Pacific-oriented teaching and learning, which was especially notable in her support and mentoring of students and scholars from Oceania. Teresia’s work exemplifies the way in which the intellectual projects of Global Development Section (GDS) and Feminist Theory and Gender Studies (FTGS) are co-implicated. As a way of encouraging a closer working relationship between GDS and FTGS, and in order to honor Teresia’s commitment to Pacific scholarship, we would like to propose a paper award in her name.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Registered PhD students or equivalent studying in Oceania
  2. Worthiness (and acceptance) of paper to be presented
  3. Active membership with ISA


  • Recipients receive a $800.00 (USD) cash prize and a certificate.

Selection Process

  • The primary criteria for assessment will be the quality of the paper submitted.
  • The nominations will be assessed by the award committee and the award will be presented at the Feminist Theory
    and Gender Studies (FTGS) Section business meeting during the ISA Annual Convention.

Apply for the Teresia Teaiwa Student Paper Award

  • Nominations should be submitted to the Chair of the Award Committee Robbie Shilliam.
  • The deadline for nominations is October 15, 2020.


The inaugural Teresia Teaiwa Student Paper Award will be presented at the 2021 ISA Annual Convention in Las Vegas.



Robbie Shilliam | Chair
GDS Section
Johns Hopkins University

Ajay Parasram | Member
GDS Section
Dalhousie University

Anwar Mhajne |Member
FTGS Section
John Hopkins University

Punam Yadav |Member
FTGS Section
University College London (UCL)

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates