THEORY Conference Post-PhD Paper Award

About the Award

The THEORY Section seeks nominations for its conference paper awards. All papers with a strong theoretical focus which were presented at the most recent ISA Annual Conventionare eligible. The THEORY Section seeks to honor excellent work in theorizing international politics across the plurality of theoretical approaches. This award is for a paper presented by a post PhD scholar.


Recipients must meet the following criteria

  1. Recipient must be a current member of ISA
  2. Eligible paper may be single- or multi-authored.
  3. To be eligible for the award, the paper must have been presented at the most recent ISA Annual Convention.
  4. All presenters must already hold a PhD.
  5. The subject matter of the paper must fall into the broadly defined category of theory.


  • Certificate.
  • The recipient will receive the award at the section meeting during the ISA Annual Convention. If not present, the certificate will be mailed to the recipient.

Apply for this Award

The deadline for nominations is July 10, 2021.

  • Nominations may be made by anyone in the profession. We encourage discussants and chairs on THEORY panels to let us know about outstanding papers you encountered. Self-nominations are also welcome.
  • Nominations should include contact information of the nominee and, in the case of self-nominations, also a copy of the relevant paper. email your nominations to Theory Section Chair Lina Benabdallah.


Congratulations to Marina Duque, 2020's recipient of the THEORY Conference Post-PhD Paper Award for their paper entitled "The Logic of Expressive Rationality"!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Marina Duque | Co-Chair
Assistant Professor of Political Science
Florida State University

Oumar Ba | Co-Chair
Assistant Professor
Cornell University

Committee Members

Jessica Auchter | Co-Chair
UC Foundation Associate Professor
Department of Political Science and Public Service
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Renée Marlin-Bennett | Member
Professor of Political Science
Johns Hopkins University

Chuan Wang | Member
PhD Candidate
University of Florida

Jack Adam MacLennan | Member
Assistant Professor of Political Science
Graduate Program Director for National Security Studies
Park University

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates