Swipe Mentor Award [IPE]

The SWIPE Mentor Award pays tribute to women and men who have invested in the professional success of women in the IPE field. Originating in the early 1990s, the Society for Women in International Political Economy (SWIPE) observed that many women in IPE did not have the close mentoring relationships that their male counterparts seemed to benefit from. Indeed, while research across disciplines has shown that mentoring can be key to higher publication rates and successfully achieving tenure, women tend to get less mentoring than men.

Therefore, to recognize excellent mentoring in their field, members created the SWIPE Mentor Award, presenting the first award to Robert Keohane in 1997. Recipients have included scholars, an academic press editor, and deans. In 2009, with the view that many of its original goals had been reached and that other organizations were addressing its concerns, SWIPE disbanded. The award is now administered by ISA’s International Political Economy (IPE) Section.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.

  1. ISA is an international organization and we encourage nominations from outside the US. The SWIPE Committee particularly encourages nominations for scholars of any group that is generally under-represented in the discipline. We recognize that conditions for women still vary considerably from country to country.
  • The awardee will be given a plaque and recognition at the IPE Section's annual convention reception.
  • There will be a special roundtable honoring the award recipient at the Annual Convention.
  • Nominations (including self-nominations) must include the nominee’s current C.V. and a letter describing how the nominee has mentored women in IPE, for example by supporting female scholars in publishing and networking, providing career advice and guidance, and/or any other activity that supports women's careers in the field of IPE.
  • Nominations may come from any member of ISA and should be sent by e-mail to the Chair of the SWIPE Selection Committee.
  • Nominations may be accompanied by letters of support from women in IPE that have been mentored by the nominee (no more than one page).
  • The annual nomination deadline is August 15.


Congratulations to the 2022 recipient of the SWIPE Mentor Award, Mark Blyth! See the previous recipients below.

Year Recipient
2021 Kenneth Scheve
2020 Kathleen McNamara
2018 Kathleen Hancock
2018 Helen Milner
2017 Vivien A. Schmidt
2016 David Leblang
2015 Benjamin J. Cohen
2014 Rorden Wilkinson
2013 Judith L. Goldstein
2012 David Lake
2011 Ronnie Lipschutz
2010 Jan Jindy Pettman
2009 Marsha Pripstein Posusney
2008 Peg Hermann
2007 Herman Schwartz
2006 Anne Sisson Runyan
2004 Nick Onuf
2003 Cecelia Lynch
2002 Roger Haydon
2000 Spike Peterson
1999 Audie Klotz
1998 Mary Katzenstein
1997 Robert Keohane


Boram Lee | Chair
Wesleyan University

Emily Jones | Member
University of Oxford

Nicole Wu | Member
University of Toronto

Austin Strange | Member
Hong Kong University

Quynh Nguyen | Member
Australian National University

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates