Susan S. Northcutt Award

The Susan S. Northcutt Award was established in 2003 by the Women's Caucus for International Studies (WCIS) to honor the Caucus’ founder, Susan S. Northcutt. The award recognizes a person who actively works towards recruiting and advancing women and other underrepresented scholars in the profession, and whose spirit is inclusive, generous and conscientious. While also, acknowledging someone who has made significant contributions through service and competence to the field of international studies and to the International Studies Association.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.


  1. Recipients must be current members of ISA.
  2. The recipient must demonstrate the strength of their candidacy based on the intention of the Northcutt Award, which is to recognize not only outstanding service and competence in their field, but also exceptional inclusivity and courageous work in advancing women and other minorities in the international studies profession.
  • WCIS has created a separate fund to support this award. Persons wishing to make a donation to this fund can send a check to ISA HEADQUARTERS. The check should be payable to ISA, with a notation that it is for the WCIS Susan S. Northcutt Award Fund.
  • The recipient of the Northcutt Award will receive an award plaque and commemorative vase at the ISA Business Meeting.
  • The award is made annually on the basis of nominations by member(s) of the ISA and selection by the WCIS Executive Committee.
  • Nomination should include a brief (three pages maximum) articulation of the candidate’s strengths relevant to the aims of the Northcutt Award.
  • Nominations for this Award must be submitted to the Awards/Nominations Coordinator by October 1, 2022.
  • Self-nominations are welcomed.
  • Questions regarding the application/nomination process may be directed to WCIS Awards/Nominations Coordinator Jamie Scalera.
  • Please note that WCIS Executive Committee members are not eligible to apply.



Congratulations to the 2021 recipient of the Susan S. Northcutt Award, Naazneen H. Barma! See the previous recipients below.

Year Recipient
2021 Naazneen H. Barma
2020 Dr. Malinda S. Smith
2019 Mary Meyer McAleese
2018 Mandy Turner
2017 Marijke Breuning
2016 Kelly Kadera
2014 Brett Ashley Leeds
2013 Sara McLaughlin Mitchell
2012 Jindy Rosa Pettman
2011 Patrick James
2010 Meredith Reid Sarkees
2009 Christine Sylvester
2008 Cynthia H. Enloe
2007 J. Ann Tickner
2006 Karen A. Mingst
2005 Deborah Gerner


Jamie Scalera | Chair
April 2021 - March 2023
Georgia Southern University

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates