STAIR Book Award

The Science, Technology and Art in International Relations (STAIR) Book Award is conferred annually for the best book that develops interdisciplinary advances to how science, technology and arts permeate international politics. The award recognises a book published in the preceding two calendar years (copyright date) that advances innovative research agendas on the intersections between international relations and the politics of science, technology and art.

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Both single-authored and co-authored monographs are eligible for the STAIR book prize.
  2. Nominations for the STAIR Annual Book Award should be submitted to the chair of the STAIR section. Nominations by publishers, STAIR members and self-nominations are welcome. 
  3. The selection panel consists of four STAIR members, including the section chair. It is the responsibility of the nominee to ensure that the publisher sends a copy of the book to the panel members. 
  4. Nominations should include a brief description of the nominee’s contribution and how it advances interdisciplinary approaches to the role of science, technology and arts in international politics 
  5. Recipients must be members of STAIR.


  1. Recipients will receive an award plaque be presented at the International Studies Association Annual Convention at the STAIR reception.

Apply for the Award


To Be Determined...


The award committee consists of a minimum of three STAIR members, including the Section Chair.


Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use