James N. Rosenau Award

James N. Rosenau’s innovative work, honors the scholar who has made the most important contributions to globalization studies. A past president of the International Studies Association and a pioneer in globalization research, Jim Rosenau offered great insights into the intersection of domestic and foreign affairs, boundary spanning actors in world politics, and parametric transformations in our field. This award recognizes his role as a pillar of the international studies community and leader in globalization research.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.


  1. Recipients must be current members of ISA.
  • The recipient will receive a $500 monetary prize along with a plaque.
  • The ISA president will present the award at the Business Meeting and Award Ceremony at the Annual Convention in Montréal, 2023.
  • The nomination and selection process for this award is placed under the responsibility of the Rosenau Achievement Award Committee.
  • Letters of nomination or self-nominations, plus curriculum vitae, should be submitted to the three members of the Rosenau Award Committee by October 15.



Congratulations to all recipients of the James N. Rosenau Award! See the previous recipients below.

Year Recipient
2020 Ole Wæver
2019 Barry Gills
2018 Aseem Prakash

Committee Members

Ana Carolina Garriga | Chair
April 2021 - March 2023
University of Essex

Kristen Hopewell | Member
March 2022 - April 2024
University of British Columbia

Andrea Oelsner | Member
March 2022 - April 2024
University of San Andrés

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates