Robert H. Donaldson Award [POSTCOM]

This year POSTCOMM will award the Robert H. Donaldson prize for best paper written on the post-Communist region, as defined in our charter.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA
  2. All submissions must be from POSTCOMM members who are in good standing (dues paid in the year paper is submitted), and must have been presented at the annual ISA meeting in the year the paper is submitted.
  3. Submissions must be unpublished papers (may be under review, but cannot appear in print before the submission deadline).
  4. An individual may appear as author or co-author on only one submission.
  5. Papers may be from any discipline in the social sciences, may be theoretical or empirical in emphasis, but must cover some portion of the POSTCOMM region, as defined in the charter.


  • The author(s) of the winning paper will receive recognition, a certificate and a $200.00 cash prize at the POSTCOMM business meeting at the ISA Annual Convention, as well as notice in the POSTCOMM newsletter and website.
  • A winner will be determined by November 1st.

Selection Process

  • Review of submissions will use a double-blind system.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

  • Submissions must be in English and be between 5000 and 7500 words long, including references and notes.
  • Submissions should not include information about the author—a separate sheet ( in a separate file) providing the author’s name and institutional affiliation should be included with the submitted paper.
  • Self-references in the text and/or notes of the paper should be redacted before submission.
  • Submissions should be sent to Vidya Nadkarni Award Committee Chair in electronic format as either a pdf file or WORD document.
  • All submissions must be received by 5:00 pm EST, October 15th.


Congratulations to Valentina Feklyunina, 2017's recipient of the Robert H. Award!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Vidya Nadkarni | Chair
April 2020 - April 2021
University of San Diego

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates