Quincy Wright Award

The Quincy Wright Distinguished Scholar Award was created in 2000 and is given annually to a scholar who has significantly influenced the ISA-Midwest region. The Quincy Wright Distinguished Scholar will have an exceptional record of scholarship in international studies, a distinguished record of service to the International Studies Association and other international affairs organizations, and, normally, a record of service within the region.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA.


  • The recipient receives a plaque and gives a special address at the award luncheon during ISA Midwest Annual Conference.
  • This award is sponsored by the ISA Midwest Region and presented at the region conference in November.

Selection Process

  • The ISA-Midwest Board selects the recipient.
  • The award is presented every year.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

  • Nominations should spotlight career achievements, including contributions to the ISA and ISA-Midwest.
  • Papers should be submitted to the ISA-Midwest president by December 31, 2017.


Congratulations to Jeff Pickering (Kansas State University), 2019's recipient of the Quincy Award!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Brian Lai | University of Iowa

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use