Martin O. Heisler Award [ENMISA]

This award, sponsored by the Ethnicity, Nationalism and Migration Section (ENMISA), recognizes the best paper presented at a panel or poster session by a graduate student at the ISA Annual Convention. 


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.


  1. Recipients must be current members of ISA.
  2. Students matriculated in a graduate program (masters or doctorate) are eligible.
  3. The Competition is open to any student who is enrolled in a graduate degree program (masters or doctoral) at the time of the annual ISA conference.
  4. To be eligible for the competition, the student should have attended the ISA Annual Convention and presented his/her paper as a member of a panel or poster session.
  • Two prizes may be awarded: Grand Prize 1st place –$200.00 and a one year paid membership in ISA and the ENMISA section; First Runner Up– $100.00. A certificate will be awarded to recipient(s).
  • The recipients will be announced at the next ENMISA business meeting.
  • The criteria for judging the papers include mastery of the field, originality, logic, organization, and documentation. ENMISA encourages not only the submission of dissertation related research, but also outstanding seminar papers. We emphasize original "think-pieces" and research rather than assessments of the literature.
  • Note: The Selection Committee reserves the right to decide not to award prizes if there are not a sufficient number of papers submitted for consideration or if the committee decides that the submitted papers are not deserving of the awards.
  • Submissions must focus on at least one of the three principal areas of concern to the ENMISA Section: ethnicity, nationalism, and/or migration.
  • The content of the paper must be related to at least one of the three main focus areas of ENMISA–ethnicity, nationalism and migration.
  • A nomination letter, abstract, and an electronic copy of the paper should be sent via email by August 15th, 2022 to each committee member. Self-nominations are welcome.



Congratulations to the 2022 recipient of the Martin O. Heisler Award, David Sulewski! See the previous recipients below.

Year Recipient Title
2021 Patricia Martuscelli Controlling the family: the impact of Brazilian consular authorities on family reunification of refugees
2020 Shubha Prasad and Filip Savatic To Be or Not to Be: Diasporic Foreign Policy Interest Group Formation in the United States
2019 Katharina Natter Rethinking immigration policy theory beyond Western liberal democracies
2018 Aytac Kadioglu Great Effort, Little Help? The Influence of Peace Groups towards Ending the Northern Irish and Turkey’s Kurdish Conflicts
2017 Gerasimos Tsourapas Labor Migrants as Political Leverage? Population Mobility and Coercion in the Arab World
2015 Robert Braun Religious Minorities and Resistance to Genocide: The Collective Rescue of Jews in the Netherlands during the Holocaust
2014 Olivier Henripin Where is China? Comparing the PRC's Indivisibility Rhetoric toward Tibet, Taiwan, and Mongolia
2013 Anna Batta Ethnic Politics in New States: The Treatment of Russian and Serbian Minorities after Secession
2012 Eren Ozalay-Sanli Pandering Politicians and Susceptible Minds
2011 Cetta S. Mainwaring Transforming Interests on the EU's Southern Periphery: Malta and Migration Policy
2010 Mike Lebson Ethno-Nationalism and Violent Projects of Return: The Effect of Homeland Attachment on Refugees’ Engagement in Conflict
2009 Matthew Lieber TBD
2007 Tristan James Mabry TBD
2006 Jonathan Acuff (1st) Idean Salehyan (2nd) TBD
2005 Alana Erin Tiemessen TBD
2004 Kamal Sadiq TBD

Committee Members

Juliette Tolay | Chair
Penn State Harrisburg

Ariel Zellman | Member
Bar Ilan University

Caecilie Jensen | Member
Tampere University

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates