Margaret Hermann Award

This award is given for the best use of text analysis in leadership studies presented at the conference each year (faculty or graduate student).

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA.


  • The winner(s) receives a cash prize of $500, courtesy of generous support from Social Science Automation.

Selection Process

  • The Margaret Hermann committee selects the recipient(s).
  • This award is given for the best use of text analysis in leadership studies.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

  • Anyone (presenter, chair, discussant) can nominate an excellent paper presented at the annual ISA-Midwest conference. Faculty and graduate students can self-nominate if they would like to.
  • Papers should be submitted to the ISA-Midwest president by December 31, 2018.


Congratulations to Dennis M. Foster and Jonathan W. Keller, 2017's recipient of the Margaret Hermann Award for "Calling the Dance or Two to Tango? Leaders’ Interactive Psychological Risk Orientations and the US-Soviet Rivalry"!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Brian Lai | University of Iowa

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use