Lawrence S. Finkelstein Prize [IO]

ISA’s International Organization Section (IO) is seeking high quality graduate student papers that were presented (on a panel or as a poster) at the Annual Convention for competition to win the Lawrence S. Finkelstein Prize. Papers must discuss international organization, as broadly defined. Students are permitted to edit the paper presented at the conference, as long as the paper remains unchanged in substance. The Section particularly welcomes submissions from outside the United States.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.


  • Recipients must be current members of ISA.
  • The prize will be awarded at the IO Business Meeting at the upcoming Convention.
  • The winner will receive a $100 cash prize, a certificate, plus a travel grant for up to $500 to attend the next ISA Annual Convention.
  • The Committee selects the winner and awards the prize at the IO Section business meeting at the upcoming Convention.
  • Students should email their papers to the Prize Committee Chair. Please include "Finkelstein Prize Submission" in the subject line. In the email, please note the panel or poster session for which you presented the paper.
  • The Section also encourages the prize recipient to submit her/his paper to the journal Global Governance for possible publication.
  • Nominations should be submitted electronically by September 9th, 2022.
  • The Award Committee may also decide to award up to three honourable mentions.



Congratulations to the 2022 recipient of the Lawrence S. Finkelstein Prize, Richard Clark! See the previous recipients below.

Year Recipient
2021 Kelebogile Zvobgo & Christina Cottiero
2020 Ueli Staeger & Fabian Bohnenberger
2018 Sophia Dawkins
2017 Jonathan Chu
2013 Thomas Hale
2012 Heidi Hardt
2008 Daniela Donno
2007 Vaidyanatha Gundlupet
2006 Magdalena Frennhoff Larsen
2002 Yoram Zeev Haftel

Committee Members

Lise Howard | Chair
April 2022- March 2023
Georgetown University

Yoram Haftel| Member
April 2022- March 2023
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Francesca Parente| Member
April 2022- March 2023
Christopher Newport University

Byungwon Woo| Member
April 2022- March 2023
Yonsei University

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates