Ladd Hollist Service Award

At the 2005 Annual Meeting in Hawaii, the ISA Governing Council approved the creation of a new award to be called the Ladd Hollist Service Award, established as an annual ISA Award in recognition of his outstanding service and commitment to our Association. Ladd’s personal ethics and strength of character helped build the reputation of and re spect for the ISA in the world community of international scholars, and provided the ISA with a fundamental base of organizational stability and financial integrity.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA


  • The recipient receives an award plaque from ISA.

Selection Process

  • This award will be given in recognition of a member’s significant volunteer contribution to the ISA.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

The ISA Executive Director in consultation with the ISA President will select the recipient of this award.


Congratulations to Marijke Breuning, 2019 recipient of the Ladd Hollist Service Award!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Mark Boyer | Member
June 2015 - June 2020
International Studies Association, University of Connecticut

Cameron G. Thies | Member
March 2019 - March 2020
Arizona State University

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use