LGBTQA Emerging Scholar Paper Award

The LGBTQA Caucus recognizes the tremendous contributions of graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and those in non-permanent employment to our field through the Emerging Scholar Paper Award. The Award is judged on the basis of excellence in graduate student research on the basis of the originality, rigor, and potential impact of their paper.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.

  1. Recipients must be current members of ISA.
  2. The person nominated must have been a student, postdoctoral fellow, or in non-permanent employment at the time the paper was presented, and the paper must have been presented at the annual ISA conference.
  3. The paper should be on a LGBTQA-related theme.
  4. Papers must be received by the stated deadline.
  • The recipient will receive a certificate and cash prize of $100.
  • The selection committee will be comprised of the Chair-Elect of the caucus, the 2 members at large, and the previous year's Eminent Scholar awardee (previously known as LGBTQA awardee). They will read all submissions deemed to meet the eligibility requirements and determine a fair process for selection.
  • **Please note: This award alternates with the Book Award prize. The Emerging Scholar is only awarded in even-numbered years.
  • This award will be open for submissions in 2021 for the 2022 convention.


Congratulations to the 2020 recipient of the LGBTQA Caucus Emerging Scholar Paper Award, Emma Paszat! See the previous recipients below.

Year Recipient
2020 Emma Paszat


Dean Cooper-Cunningham
University of Copenhagen

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates