LGBTQA Caucus Book Award

The LGBTQA Caucus awards a Book Prize for the best book published in the preceding two years. The prize recognizes books advancing research on the themes of LGBTQA politics, queer theory, and sexuality in global politics. The LGBTQA Book Prize prioritizes original thought and impact, while also taking into consideration the value of awarding early and mid-career researchers.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.

  1. Recipients must be current members of ISA.
  2. Recipients must be members of the LGBTQA Caucus by the time of the 2021 convention.
  3. Books must have been published in the preceding two calendar years. For this cycle, it is books published in 2018 and 2019 that are eligible.
  • The winner will be announced at the LGBTQA/FTGS reception and will be awarded a plaque.
  • The selection committee will be comprised of the Chair-Elect of the caucus, the 2 members at large, and the previous year's eminent scholar awardee. They will read all submissions deemed to meet the eligibility requirements and determine a fair process for selection.
  • **Please note: This award alternates with the Emerging Scholar prize. The Book Award is only awarded in odd-numbered years.
  • Submissions can be made here.
  • A book may be nominated to the Award Committee by any person, including the author.
  • To be considered for the award, the nominator(s), author or publisher must send a copy directly to each member of the Award Committee. Hard-copy submissions are preferred (please contact the Awards and Nominations officer, Dean Cooper-Cunningham, for Award Committee mailing addresses). However, if the publisher cannot issue printed review copies or they would not arrive in time, electronic copies may be sent to the Award Committee members.
  • Nominators/nominees are responsible for making sure the publisher provides copies of the nominated book for the committee by the stated deadline.


Congratulations to the 2021 recipient of the LGBTQA Caucus Book Award, Ashley Currier! See the previous recipients below.

Year Recipient Title
2021 Ashley Currier Title not provided


Dean Cooper-Cunningham
University of Copenhagen

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates