Karl Deutsch Award

Named for Karl Deutsch, this award was established in 1981 to recognize scholars in IR under age 40, or within ten years of defending their dissertation. The Karl Deutsch Award is presented annually to a scholar who is judged to have made (through a body of publications) the most significant contribution to the study of International Relations and Peace Research.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA
  2. Nominees must be under age 40, or have defended their dissertation in 2009 or later.


  • A $500.00 (USD) cash prize and a plaque will be awarded to the recipient.

Selection Process

  • Only candidates satisfying the merit and age requirements will be considered.
  • The winner will be notified after November 3rd.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

  • Each nomination must include a cover letter highlighting specific scientific merits (not merely generic praise) and an updated curriculum vitae of the nominee, including date of birth and date of the doctoral degree.
  • Self-nominations are welcome. Committee members may also nominate potential recipients. Previous nominees are eligible for the award so long as they meet the merit and age requirements.
  • Nominations should be submitted electronically to each of the award committee members by August 1st.


Congratulations to Susan Hyde, the 2019 recipient of the Karl Deutsch Award!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Erica Chenoweth | Chair
February March 2019 - April 2021
Harvard University

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

Support This Award

Are you or your organization interested in underwriting or donating to support this award? We greatly appreciate your interest and help.

Donate or Underwrite

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use