ISA-South Jim Winkates Graduate Student Paper Competition

Graduate students are invited to participate in the ISA-South Jim Winkates Graduate Student Paper Award competition sponsored by the ISA-South Region of ISA. The region has named the award in honor of Dr. Jim Winkates in recognition of his contributions to the discipline and his support for graduate students.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA
  2. The competition is open to any graduate student who is enrolled in a graduate program at the time of the ISA-South conference.
  3. To be eligible in any given year, the student must attend the ISA-South Conference and present her or his paper as a member of a panel on the official conference program.
  4. To be considered for an award, students must attend the Saturday luncheon at the South 2019 conference and must be active ISA members.


  • Three prizes will be awarded:
  • - Grand Prize: $250
    - First Runner-up: $200
    - Second Runner-up: $150
  • Additional non-monetary awards will include a one-year paid membership in ISA and ISA South and a plaque acknowledging the award, presented at the annual ISA-South conference banquet.

Selection Process

  • The criteria for judging the papers include mastery of the field, originality, logic, organization, good writing, and proper documentation
  • The awards will be announced at the ISA-South conference banquet (NOTE: the Paper Competition Coordinator reserves the right to decide not to award prizes if a sufficient number of graduate student papers are not submitted for the competition)
  • Apply or Nominate for the Award

    • Both undergraduate and graduate papers that have been accepted to the ISA South conference can be submitted for this award. Students who wish to enter the competition must submit their papers by email to Tom Badey by September 6th.


    Congratulations to Karthikeya Thiagarajan, the 2018 recipient of the Jim Winkates Graduate Student Paper Award!

    For a list of past recipients, please check below.

    Past Recipients


    Thomas Badey| Region President

    Randolph-Macon College

    Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

    Key Dates