J. Ann Tickner Award

The Tickner award was established in 2011 to recognize J. Ann Tickner for her pathbreaking role within the International Studies Association and in the discipline of International Relations more generally. This award recognizes someone who, in Tickner’s footsteps, consistently combines bravery in pursuing high-quality, pioneering scholarship that pushes the boundaries of the discipline with a deep commitment to service, especially teaching and mentoring.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA.
  2. Nominations must include a detailed letter of the nominee’s accomplishments generally and suitability for this award specifically, as well as an up-to-date curriculum vitae for the nominee. Nominations of women and other members of historically marginalized groups are especially welcome.
  3. Nominations should be submitted to the award committee at the following address: tickneraward@isanet.org
  4. On request, nominations can be renewed for two years after their original submission.


  • The recipient will receive a $1000.00 (USD) check and a plaque.

Selection Process

  • The award committee will serve 2 year terms.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

Nominations should be submitted to the award committee at the following address: tickneraward@isanet.org. The nomination deadline is November 1, 2019.


Congratulations to Nicola Phillips, the 2018 recipient of the J. Ann Tickner Award!

Past Recipients


Jennifer Ramos, Chair
March 2019 - March 2020
Loyola Marymount University

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use