ISSS Emerging Scholar Award

The Emerging Scholar Award, which will be awarded annually, is meant to recognize scholars who have made (through their body of publications) the most significant contribution to the field of security studies.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA.
  2. Scholars must be under the age of 45 or within fifteen years of receiving their PhD.


  • The award recipient will receive a plaque and a $500 award given during the ISSS reception at the Annual Convention.

Selection Process

  • Nominations may come from any member of the ISSS.
  • Nominations should include a short letter of justification (not more than 1 page) and the nominee's CV. The selection committee will decide on a winner.
  • Nominations should be sent via email to Lise Morjé Howard by July 15, 2020.


Congratulations to Vipin Narang (MIT) for receiving the Emerging Scholar Award in 2020! 

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Lise Morjé Howard | Chair
March 2020- March 2021
Georgetown University

Sumit Ganguly | Member
March 2020- March 2021
Indiana University

Naazneen Barma | Member
March 2020- March 2021
Naval Postgraduate School

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates