ISSS Distinguished Scholar Award

The Distinguished Scholar Award is given for life achievement in International Security Studies. Typically, nominees will have made major contributions to scholarship in the field both via their own research and writing and their mentorship of others.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA.


  • The award recipient will be honored at a special panel at the ISA Annual Convention.
  • The award includes a plaque and a $500 award which will be distributed at a reception following the panel.

Selection Process

  • Details regarding the selection process on this award are not available at this time. Please contact Pinar Bilgin or Ron Krebs. for more information.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

  • The nomination may come from any member of the International Security Studies Section.
  • Nominations should be accompanied by a short letter of justification (not more than 1 page) and the nominee’s CV.
  • The nomination should be sent to Pinar Bilgin or Ron Krebs.
  • Candidates nominated last year are considered still to be in contention, and do not need to be re-nominated. Nomination Deadline: June 1.


Pinar Bilgin | Co-Chair
Bilkent University

Ron Krebs | Co-Chair
University of Minnesota

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 6 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use