ISSS Book Award

The ISSS Annual Best Book Award recognizes a book on any aspect of security studies that excels in originality, significance, and rigor, published in the prior calendar year.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA.


  • The recipient of this award will receive a plaque and a $500 prize, which will be distributed at a reception of the ISA Annual Convention in Las Vegas in 2021.

Selection Process

  • Books must be nominated according to the application process described below
  • The selection will be made by the ISSS Best Book Award Committee.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

Eligibility Requirements

  • The book must have been published in 2019 on any aspect of security studies.

  • The author must be a member of ISA.

Application Process

  • Please send a copy of the nominated book (or have the publisher send a copy of the book) to each of the three committee members along with a short (1-page maximum) justification for the nomination.  To obtain the necessary addresses, please send an email to the committee chair, Jennifer Dixon (
  • Self-nominations are welcome.
  • The deadline for nominations is July 15,2020July 15, 2019.



Congratulations to the 2020 recipient of the ISSS Book Award, Lindsey (O'Rourke, Boston College) for her book Covert Regime Change: America’s Secret Cold War.

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Jennifer Dixon | Chair
Villanova University
March 2020- March 2021

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates