ISSS Best Security Article Award

General Information


  • To recognize an article by an ISA member on any aspect of security studies that excels in originality, significance, and rigor, published in the prior calendar year.

Selection Process

  • Papers must be nominated according to the application process described below.
  • The selection will be made by the ISSS Best Article and Paper Award Committee


  • The recipient of this award will receive a plaque and a $500 prize, which will be distributed at a reception of the ISA Annual Convention in Honolulu in 2020.

Apply for Award

Eligibility Requirements

  • Any author or co-authors of a security studies article that appeared in print in 2018.
  • The author or co-authors of the article must be current members of ISA.

  • Application Process

    • Please send a full PDF copy of the nominated article, along with a short (1-page maximum) justification for the nomination, to the committee chair, Julia MacDonald
      Self-nominations are welcome.

    • The deadline for nominations is July 15, 2019.


Congratulations to Rachel Elizabeth Whitlark, Georgia Tech, "Nuclear Beliefs: A Leader-Focused Theory of Counter-Proliferation," Security Studies 26:4 (2017), 545-74. for receiving the 2019 ISSS Best Security Article Award!

Past Recipients

Award Committee

Julia MacDonald | Chair
University of Denver

Heidi Hardt | Member
University of California, Irvine

James J. Wirtz | Member
Naval Postgraduate School

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use