ISS Distinguished Scholar Award

The Intelligence Studies Section Distinguished Scholar Award recognizes a distinguished record in publishing and service to ISA by a scholar whose work has made substantial impact in the area of intelligence studies.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be current members of ISA and should have a substantial record of publishing in the field and service to ISA


  • The recipient will receive a certificate.

Selection Process

  • Award will be presented at the ISS Distinguished Scholar Reception at the ISA Annual Convention.
  • The ISS Distinguished Scholar award will not be awarded for 2021, and instead our 2020 winner will be honored at the ISA conference in Las Vegas in 2021.


Congratulations to Mark Phythian, the 2020 recipient of the ISS Distinguished Scholar Award! 

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Daniel Gressang | Chair
February 2019-April 2020
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates