ISS/Lynne Rienner Publishers Best Student Paper Award

The Intelligence Studies Section of ISA is pleased to announce the opening of the annual competition for the Intelligence Studies Section / Lynne Rienner Publishers Best Student Paper Award, which is generously supported by Lynne Rienner Publishers. The award is made annually by ISS in recognition of excellence for the best undergraduate or graduate student paper on a subject dealing with intelligence presented at the ISA Annual Convention.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA.
  2. Self-nominations are permitted, as are nominations from faculty mentors, panel chairmen and discussants, and conference attendees.
  3. Nominations should include the student's name, identification of student's academic institution, contact information (email address and phone number), title of the paper being submitted, panel name or number in which the paper was presented
  4. For co-authored papers, the student nominee must be the principal investigator and author to be eligible for consideration.
  5. Papers on any intelligence topic presented by an undergraduate or graduate student at the ISA conference are eligible. Nominations are limited to papers presented at the previous ISA conference.


  • One award will be made in the amount of $500.00, and presented with a certificate at the ISS business meeting at the ISA Annual conference

Selection Process

  • The Selection Committee will draw nominated papers from the on-line conference archive.

Apply For This Award

Submission Deadline July 1, 2019
  • Nominations should include: (a) the student's name; (b) identification of student's academic institution; (c) contact information (email address and phone number); (d) title of the paper being submitted; and (e) panel name or number in which the paper was presented. A paper must be provided by email attachment if it has not been uploaded in the Convention archive.
  • Nominations may be made to the selection committee chair, Andres de Castro ( ), on or before 1 July 2019.


Congratulations to Pauline Blistene, the 2019 recipient of the ISS Best Student Paper Award for "Real and Reel Secrecy: Spy Fictions and the ‘Mask of Transparency’ in France and the United States"

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Andres de Castro | Chair
April 2019 - March 2020
University of Kurdistan Hewler (UKH)

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use