ISA Annual Best Book Award

The International Studies Annual Best Book Award is conferred for the best book in the field of international studies with a copyright dated the year before the nomination.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.


  1. Individuals, authors, departments, and publishers may submit a nomination.
  2. Although there will be no administrative costs deducted from awards and the opportunity is open to both Members and Non-Members of ISA, to maintain ISA's tax-exempt status, any Non-Member recipient must immediately join the Association to receive the award.
  • The recipient will receive $500 along with an award plaque and will be automatically nominated for the ISA Book of the Decade Award.
  • The Annual International Studies Best Book Award is conferred for the best book in the field of international studies in the previous year.
  • This award is not presented in years in which the Book of the Decade is presented.
  • Books to be considered for the award must be published the year before they are nominated. The book(s) that receive(s) the award will be presented at the convention the following year.
  • A brief supporting statement is required of each nomination. The nomination with supporting statement should be addressed to the committee chair. Only email nominations will be considered.
  • Nominators are limited to one submission.
  • It is the nominator's responsibility to contact the publisher and request that copies of the nominated title be sent to each of the committee members at the addresses listed, along with one copy to ISA HQ ( [ISA-Headquarters Inc, PO Box 359, Storrs, CT 06269].
  • Nominations should be submitted by June 1st.



Congratulations to the 2022 recipients of the ISA Annual Best Book Award, Janet I. Lewis for How Insurgency Begins, and to Elisabeth King & Cyrus Samii, for Diversity, Violence, and Recognition! See the previous recipients below.


Year Recipient  Title

Janet I. Lewis

Elisabeth King & Cyrus Samii

How Insurgency Begins

Diversity, Violence, and Recognition

2021 Margaret Roberts

Christoph Meyer, Chiara De Franco & Florian Otto

Warning about War
2019 Jonathan Renshon Fighting for Status, Hierarchy and Conflict in World Politics
2018 Jessica Stanton

Sheena Chestnut Greitens
Violence and Restraint

Dictators and Their Secret Policy
2017 Dale C. Copeland Economic Interdependence and War
2016 Severine Autesserre Peaceland: Conflict Resolution and the Everday Poltics of International Intervention
2015 Shiping Tang

Emilie M. Hafner-Burton

Lars-Erik Cederman, Kristian Skrede Gleditsch, Halvard Buhaug
The Social Evolution of International Politics

Making Human Rights a Reality

Inequality, Grievances, and Civil War
2014 Bear F. Braumoeller The Great Powers and the International System: Systemic Theory in Empirical Perspective
2013 Tim B├╝the/ Walter Mattli The New Global Rulers:  The Privatization of Regulation in the World Economy
2012 Kelly Greenhill Weapons of Mass Migration
2011 Beth Simmons Mobilizing for Human Rights: International Law in Domestic Politics
2009 Andrew Hurrell On Global Order: Power, Values, and the Constitution of International Society
2008 Dominic Johnson/ Dominic Tierney Failing to Win: Perceptions of Victory and Defeat in International Politic
2007 Clifford Bob Marketing of Rebellion: Insurgents, Media, and International Activism
2006 Michael Barnett/ Martha Finnemore Rules for the world: international organizations in world politics


Committee Members

Matthew J. Hoffmann | Chair
April 2022- March 2023
University of Toronto
Dept of Political Science
100 St George St
Toronto, ON M5S 3G3

Tricia D. Olsen | Member
April 2022 - March 2023
University of Denve
2306 East Evans Avenue, Suite 107
Denver, CO 80210

Ritu Vij | Member
April 2022 - March 2023
University of Aberdeen
F59 Edward Wright Building
Dunbar Street
Scotland AB243QY

Huiyun Feng | Member
April 2022 - March 2023
Griffith University
School of Government and International Relations
Nathan Campus
Building No. 16, 1.76
170 Kessels Road, Nathan
Brisbane, QLD 4111

Ty Solomon | Member
April 2022- March 2023
University of Glasgow
Politics & International Relations
School of Social and Political Sciences
Adam Smith Building
Bute Gardens
Glasgow G128RT

Mark A. Boyer | Ex-Officio
International Studies Association, Inc
PO Box 359
Storrs, CT 06269


Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates