IPE Outstanding Activist Scholar Award

In keeping with the criteria established by the IPE’s Activist Scholar Award Committee in 2006, the award is to be given to a person who has successfully straddled academia and activism.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA
  2. The awardee should have a record of writing that is used and recognized within the academic community.
  3. The awardee should have a record of work that moves beyond academia into activism.
  4. The awardee should be an active participant in some civil-society, activist community.
  5. Activism in this case means active involvement not just through writing. The awardee must be more than just someone whose work is used by activists.
  • The recipient will receive a plaque at the IPE section reception held at the ISA Annual Convention.
  • The award is not meant for someone whose role, however important, is to popularize writings. The awardee must be more than someone whose work reaches a broader, non-academic audience.
  • To the extent possible, the award is meant to be given to an Outstanding Activist Scholar for whom the award will have meaning and significance. In other words, the goal of the award is to honor someone whose “activist scholarship” has not been recognized in public ways by academia.
  • The award will be given only when there is a person whom the majority of members of the relevant award committee deem to have met the above criteria. The award does not need to be given annually.
  • Nominations may be sent to the Committee Chair Hasmet M. Uluorta by May 21, 2021 for consideration by the selection committee.
  • Nominations must provide the Name, affiliation, and email of the nominator and nominee.
  • Nominators must explain how the nominee meets each criterion.
  • Nomination form can be found here: ISA-OAS Ballot Form.


Congratulations to the 2020 recipient of the IPE Outstanding Activist Scholar Award, Heikki Patomäki! See the previous recipients below.

Year Recipient
2020 Heikki Patomäki
2019 Galia Golan
2018 Jackie Smith
2017 Medea Benjamin
2016 Margaret Levi
2015 Angela Davis
2014 Naomi Klein
2013 David Graeber
2012 Mike Davis
2010 Richard Falk (Outstanding Public Scholar)
2009 Frances Moore Lappé (Outstanding Public Scholar)
2008 Walden Bello (Outstanding Public Scholar)
2007 Susan George (Outstanding Public Scholar)

Committee Members

Hasmet Uluorta | Chair
Trent University

Robin Broad | Member
American University

Chris Chase-Dunn | Member
University of California, Riverside

Barry Gills | Member
University of Helsinki

Marilyn Grell-Brisk | Member
UC Riverside

Andrej Grubacic | Member
California Institute of Integral Studies

J. Ann Tickner | Member
American University

Linda Yarr | Member
George Washington University

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates