IPE Distinguished Scholar Award

The International Political Economy Section of the International Studies Association welcomes your nominations for the 2020 Distinguished Scholar Award.

The award was created to recognize outstanding senior scholars whose influence and path-breaking intellectual work will continue to impact the field for years to come. We particularly welcome nominations of innovative scholars who have contributed sophisticated new theories and methods for analyzing the international political economy, and who have made lasting contributions to fostering a stimulating and inclusive ISA community in additional areas, such as mentoring, service in the International Studies Association, or other areas the nominator may choose to highlight.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. To reflect the international and tolerant nature of our section, we encourage diversity in nominations according to intellectual orientation, gender, ethnicity, religion and geography. The recipient must be a current member of ISA and the IPE section.


  • The recipient will receive a plaque at the IPE reception during the Annual Convention.
  • Former/current colleagues and students are invited to be on the roundtable honoring the awardee at the ISA Annual Convention. The roundtable generally precedes the IPE reception at the convention.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

Apply or Nominate for the Award

  • The committee is especially interested in scholars who have a history of attending ISA meetings, as we do not have the ability to support travel. 
  • The nomination may come from any member of the International Political Economy Section.
  • Nominations (including self-nominations) must include the nominee’s current C.V. and a letter (no more than 1 page) describing the nominee’s contribution to the study of IPE.
  • The nomination should be sent to Rachel Wellhausen
  • Candidates nominated last year remain in contention this year, and do not need to be re-nominated. 
  • The deadline for nominations is May 15.


Congratulations to Aseem Prakash, 2019's recipient of the IPE Distinguished Scholar Award!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Rachel Wellhausen | Chair
April 2019 - March 2020
University of Texas - Austin


Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use