IPE Best Book Award

The International Political Economy Annual Best Book Award recognizes an outstanding monograph in the field of IPE published within the past two years. Nominated books will be evaluated on the basis of originality, significance, and rigor.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Nominated works must be published during the two calendar years prior to the year in which they are nominated. For example, for the 2019 IPE Best Book Award, books must have published between January 1st 2017 and December 31st 2018 to be eligible.
  2. Recipients must be a current member of ISA.
  3. Nominations are welcome from individuals or publishers. Each publisher may nominate more than one book, and books nominated for the prior year can be re-nominated.


  • The award comes with a plaque that is presented to the recipient at the ISA annual convention, and a $500 cash prize.

Selection Process

  • The IPE Best Book Award Committee consists of five members (including the Committee Chair) who serve rolling two year terms, plus the chair of the IPE section of ISA as an ex-officio member. The Committee Chair is responsible for notifying the recipient of the award and encouraging the recipient to attend the Annual Convention at which the award is to be presented to receive the award in person.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

Apply or Nominate for the Award

  • To nominate an author, an electronic versino of the book must be sent to  Alison Johnston by the nominations deadline.
  • The nominations deadline is August 1, 2020.


Congratulations to Taylor St John, author of “The Rise of Investor-State Arbitration”, and Jonas B. Bunte, author of "Raise the Debt" winners of the 2020 IPE Best Book Award.



Alison Johnston | Chair
Oregon State University
April 2019- March 2021

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates