IO Distinguished Senior Scholar Award

The Distinguished Senior Scholar Award was created to recognize senior scholars of exceptional merit whose influence, intellectual works and mentorship will likely continue to impact the field for years to come. Former/current colleagues and students will be invited to be on a roundtable honoring the awardee at the ISA Annual Convention. The roundtable generally precedes the IO Section reception at the convention.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.


  1. Recipients must be current members of ISA.
  2. Award recipients must be able to attend the 2024 ISA Annual Convention in San Francisco where the awardee will be honored in a panel and at a reception.
  3. The committee is especially interested in scholars who have a history of attending ISA meetings.
  • Plaque
  • Nominations (including self-nominations) should include a short narrative touching on the qualities listed above and current cv.
  • Please forward nomination materials to each committee member by e-mail.
  • Deadline for nominations: 31 May 2023



Congratulations to the 2022 recipient of the IO Distinguished Senior Scholar Award, Margaret Karns! See the previous recipients below.


Year Recipient
2021 recognized Audie Klotz from 2020
2020 Audie Klotz
2018 Amitav Acharya
2016 Thomas G. Weiss
2014 Robert Keohane
2012 Chadwick Alger
2010 Leon Gordenker


Committee Members

Roger Coate | Chair
April 2022 – March 2024
Georgia College / University of South Carolina (emeritus)

Mette Eilstrup-Sangiovanni | Member
April 2022 – March 2024
University of Cambridge

Joel Oestreich | Member
April 2022 – March 2024
Drexel University

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates