Best Book in Interdisciplinary Studies

The IDSS has established a book award prize that recognizes a work that is an original and outstanding contribution to interdisciplinary studies, broadly defined. Interdisciplinary studies are unique in making conceptual and methodological connections across disciplines, challenging disciplinary orthodoxies, and critically applying research techniques and approaches across multiple disciplines. Given the interconnectedness of our globalized world, researchers need to use techniques and methods inspired by various disciplines to comprehensively address a wider array of transnational events, issues, and challenges.

Apply For the Award

  • To be considered for this award, books may be submitted to the selection committee by any person, including the author(s).
  • Self-nominations are welcome.
  • To be considered, one copy of the book must be sent directly to each of the three members of the selection committee.
    • The Committee will accept submissions in hard copy; under exceptional circumstances it will allow electronic submissions, to be decided on a case by case basis by the selection committee.
  • Books must be received by October 1, 2020.
  • Decisions of the selection committee are final.
    • Questions regarding the quality of the book and importance or scope of the subject matter will be resolved at the sole discretion of the selection committee.
  • For further information or inquiries, please contact the committee chair, Tina Mavrikos-Adamou.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Authors must be current members of ISA.
  2. Books may be single- or multi-authored and must be original works (not edited collections, textbooks or translations).
  3. Books must have been published within the two-year period preceding the year of the competition (i.e. published in 2019 or 2020).
  4. Books must fall into the broadly defined category of interdisciplinary studies in approach and/or subject matter, as understood by the selection committee.


  • A $250.00 (USD) cash prize is awarded to the recipient.
  • The winner will also receive a certificate at the awards presentations at the annual ISA Annual Convention.
  • In addition to the award for Best Book, the Committee may award 'Honorable Mention' to one or more books that, in the
    Committee's view, merit this distinction.

Selection Process

  • The selection committee will be comprised of three section members, headed by a chair of the committee.


Tina Mavrikos-Adamou | Chair
March 2020 - March 2021
The American College of Thessaloniki

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

Support This Award

Are you or your organization interested in underwriting or donating to support this award? We greatly appreciate your interest and help.

Donate or Underwrite