HR Best Book Award

General Information

The Human Rights Section’s Best Book Award recognizes an outstanding monograph in the field of human rights published within the past two years. Nominated books will be evaluated for excellence and impact in terms of germaneness, substance, originality, and timeliness.

The Award is accompanied by a one-year paid membership of ISA and Human Rights Section dues (see below).

Eligibility and Award Criteria

  1. Books published during the two-year period prior to the nomination deadline are eligible for nomination1
  2. Recipients of the award must be members of ISA and of the Human Rights Section at the time the award is presented at the ISA Annual Meeting. If the recipient is not a member of ISA and/or the Human Rights Section at the time the award is offered, the recipient may choose to apply the membership benefit of the award prior to presentation at the annual meeting. Recipients who are already members at the time the award is offered will be able to apply the Membership benefit the following year. 

Nomination Information

  1. Books must be published at the time of nomination; page-proofs of upcoming manuscripts will not be accepted.
  2. Books must be nominated by a member of the ISA Human Rights Section. Self-nominations are welcome. 
  3. All nominations should be submitted by June 15 through the nomination form, available here, The committee will select a shortlist of titles and the committee chair will then request to have those books sent directly to the committee members. Please do not send unsolicited manuscripts.

1 For example, if a nomination were received in June of 2020, the book must have been published between June 2018 and May 2020.


Congratulations to the 2020 recipient of the Human Rights Section Best Book Award, Lindsey N. Kingston for her book  "Fully Human: Personhood, Citizenship, and Rights"

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Laurel Weldon| Chair
April 2020-March 2021
University of South Carolina

Franziska Boehme | Member
April 2020-March 2021
Texas State University

Lindsey Kingston | Member
April 2020-March 2021
Webster University

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates