Francesco Guicciardini Prize for Best Book in Historical International Relations

Francesco Guicciardini (1483-1540) was an Italian historian and statesman who served in the Florentine and papal diplomatic services and was the author, among other works, of the landmark History of Italy (Storia d’Italia), a foundational work on statecraft and grand strategy which combined careful historical research with general theorizing about the ethics and practices of international behavior. The Francesco Guicciardini Prize is given annually and recognizes the best book copyrighted in the previous calendar year on subjects related to historical international relations. This year's prize will be open to books published in 2015.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA.
  2. The recipient may be at any stage of their career and from any country.
  3. Self-nominations are welcome.
  4. Members of the award committee are ineligible for the award.
  5. Edited books are not eligible for this award.


  • The recipient will receive a $250 (USD) cash prize and a certificate.
  • The recipient will be announced at the HIST Section Business Meeting at the ISA Annual Convention and will be recognized at the HIST Section reception.

Selection Process

  • The recipient is selected by a three-person committee appointed by the HIST section officers; committee members serve for two years.
  • Nominated books should conduct careful historical analysis that produces significant insights into ongoing concerns in international studies.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

  • When nominating an author, please submit a copy of the book to each member of the Award Committee.
  • The nominations deadline is August 15th. Please send nominations to the award chair, Prof. Lucian Ashworth.


Congratulations to Dr Martin J Bayly, the 2017 recipient of the Francesco Guicciardini Prize for Best Book in Historical International Relations Award, for "Taming the Imperial Imagination. Colonial Knowledge, International Relations, and the Anglo-Afghan Encounter, 1808–1878"

Past Recipients


Prof. Lucian Ashworth | Chair
Feb 2017-April 2018
Department of Political Science
Memorial University of Newfoundland
St. John’s, NL
A1B 3X9

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 6 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use