Historical International Relations Distinguished Scholar Award

The HIST Section’s Distinguished Scholar Award recognizes an individual whose lifetime achievements in scholarship, teaching, and mentoring have made a significant impact on the field of Historical International Relations. The award is given on a biennial basis.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients of the award must be members of ISA and of the HIST Section at the time the award is presented at the ISA Annual Meeting. Recipients of the Historical International Relations Distinguished Scholarship will be recognized at the Section’s Business Meeting as well as the Section Reception at ISA. The Section will also organize a Distinguished Scholar Panel to recognize the recipient’s achievements.


  • The recipient will receive a plaque.

Selection Process

  • The recipient will be selected by the Section's Executive Committee.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

  • Nominations should be sent to the HIST Section Chair, Ayse Zarakol .


Congratulations to Jens Bartelson, the 2019 recipient of the History Section's Distinguished Scholar Award


Past Winners:

2017: Yale H. Ferguson and Richard W. Mansbach


Benjamin de Carvalho

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use