Andrew Price-Smith Book Award [GHS]

Andrew Price-Smith, one of the leading scholars of global health security and the David Packard Smith Professor of International Relations at Colorado College, died of cancer on July 11, 2019. His 2001 book, The Health of Nations: Infectious Disease, Environmental Change, and Their Effects on National Security and Development, was one of the first books that combined political science with global health, and it made a seminal impact on the burgeoning field of global health security. To recognize his legacy and the impact he made on global health politics, we have renamed the GHS Book Award the Andrew Price-Smith Book Award. We hope that the winner of this award will carry on his legacy of engaged scholarship, creative thinking, and relentless curiosity.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA and the Global Health Section.
  2. Books eligible for the award must fall into the broadly defined category of global health. This includes, but is not limited to, books on global health security, global health governance, political economy of global health, human rights, health and development, international actors (e.g. institutions, social movements) and global health.
  3. The recipient may be at any stage of his or her career and from any country.
  4. Edited volumes and textbooks are not eligible for this award.
  5. Co-authored works are eligible for this award.
  6. Self-nominations are welcome.
  7. Books have to be published in an English-language edition to be considered.
  • Certificate presented at the ISA annual convention and a $50 check.
  • The recipient is selected by a committee appointed by the Global Health Section.
  • The Award Committee consists of five members: 3 from the Executive Board; 2 from the Section membership.
  • Books by members of the selection committee are not eligible for consideration.
  • The Committee Chair is responsible for notifying the recipient of the award and encouraging the recipient to attend the Annual Convention at which the award is to be presented so as to receive the award in person.
  • In the event that the selection committee finds there is no book worthy of the award, no award will be given.
  • The recipient will be announced at the Global Health Section Business Meeting at the ISA Annual Convention and will be recognized at the Global Health Section reception.
  • Please email a letter of nomination (no more than one page) to the Committee Chair.
  • It is the responsibility of the author/publisher to make sure books are sent to all committee members. PDF version of accepted book proof is fine.
  • Deadline for submission and receipt of books is September 1.


Congratulations to Amy S. Patterson, the 2020 recipient of the Andrew Price-Smith Book Award for “Africa and Global Health Governance: Domestic Politics and International Structures”! See the previous recipients below.

Year Recipient Title
2021 TBD TBD
2020 Amy S. Patterson “Africa and Global Health Governance: Domestic Politics and International Structures”
2019 Kenneth C Shadlen “Coalitions and Compliance: the political economy of pharmaceutical patents in Latin America”
2018 Emma-Louise Anderson and Amy S. Patterson Dependent Agency in the Global Health Regime: Local African responses to Donor AIDS efforts
2017 Catherine Yuk-ping Lo HIV/AIDS in China and India: Governing Health Security
2016 Adam Kamradt-Scott Managing Global Health Security: The World Health Organization and Disease Outbreak Control

Committee Members

Heather Wipfli | Chair
April 2021- March 2022
University of Southern California

Sara Davies | Member
April 2021- March 2022
Griffith University

Cat Worsnop | Member
April 2021- March 2022
University of Maryland School of Public Policy

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates