GDS Eminent Scholar Award

This award is given to a scholar who has made a signal contribution throughout her/his career to the issue areas engaged with by GDS.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA.


  • The recipient will receive a plaque.
  • The committee usually make their decision by May 30th of each year.
  • The recipient will also be honored at a roundtable during the annual ISA conference.

Selection Process

  • The scholar is selected each year by a standing committee of three GDS members (who are not existing executive) in consultation with the membership at large.
  • The committee make a decision based on scholarly contribution, with a consideration of practicalities of travel cost and availability.
  • GDS members can suggest nominees. Suggestions must be received by May 1st of each year.

Apply for the GDS Eminent Scholar Award

Individuals cannot personally apply for the award.



Congratulations toNancy Fraser, 2019's recipient of the GDS Distinguished Scholar Award!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Jeanne Simon | Chair
University of Concepcion

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use