Lee Ann Fujii Book Award

In 2016, Lee Ann Fujii gave the luncheon lecture at ISA-NE. In her lecture, she called for greater diversity and representation in the discipline of IR, and emphasized the need for mentorship, support, and recognition of scholarship in this vein. After her passing in 2018, this book award was established to recognize the best book published in the previous two calendar years that significantly advances issues of diversity in the discipline, whether through topical focus or authorship. In this vein, the award gives preference to scholars from underrepresented communities in IR: scholars from the Global South, LGBTQ scholars, and women. Award recipients should fulfill Lee Ann’s call for diversity and representation in the discipline in meaningful ways.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA


  • Award recipients will receive $250 (USD), a plaque, and a complimentary one-year ISA membership.

Selection Process

  • The award winner is selected by a six member Award Committee comprised of a member from each of the award co-sponsor
    • Chair from ISA-NE
    • LGBTQA Caucus
    • Women's Caucus
    • Committee on Diversity and Representation
    • Global South Caucus
    • Committee on the Status of the Global South

Apply For the Award

  • Nominations outlining how the book meets the award criteria should be sent to the committee chair, Jessica Auchter.
  • The committee chair will then provide nominators with the mailing addresses of the committee members so that the nominated books can be sent to the committee.
    • One copy of the nominated book must be sent to each member of the committee. 
  • Nominations are due by July 1, with books to be received by July 15.


Jessica Auchter | Chair
March 2020 - March 2021
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates