Fred Hartmann Award

The Hartmann Award is named after Dr. Frederick H. Hartmann, a distinguished international relations scholar born in 1922 in New York City who received his Ph.D. from Princeton University in 1949.  Dr. Hartmann, who taught many years at the University of Florida, the Naval War College in Newport, Rhode Island, and a host of other public and private institutions, including overseas, produced a dozen books on international relations and foreign policy, including student texts. His definition of "international relations" was included in UNESCO's Social Science Dictionary published in 1965. Having served on several national and state committees and boards of higher education and as a Captain in the U.S. Naval Reserve, Dr. Hartmann retired from the Naval War College as Alfred Thayer Mahan Professor Emeritus.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. The award is for an outstanding graduate student or ABD paper presented at the ISA-Northeast Annual Conference.
  2. Panel chairs and discussants may nominate outstanding papers, or paper-givers may self-nominate. Nomination forms are provided at the conference registration desk.
  3. Recipients must be a current member of ISA


  • A $100.00 (USD) cash prize, a certificate, and a one-year student membership to ISA is awarded to the recipient at the ISA Annual Convention.

Selection Process

  • The award review committee, composed of members of the ISA-NE Executive Committee, read and score the nominated papers individually, assigning points based on criteria established by the committee.
  • The award winner is announced at the ISA-NE regional conference subsequent to the one at which the winning paper was presented.
  • Should the committee decide that no paper merits the Hartmann Award in a particular year, the award is not given.

Apply For This Award

  • The application deadline is July 1, 2021.
  • Nominations should be submitted by email to Andrew Ross and should include the paper as an attachment.
  • Nominated papers must have been presented at the 2020 ISA-NE conference.


Congratulations to Amoz Hor, recipient of the Fred Hartmann Award for "The Affective Politics of Pop-Economics: How Racializing Japan Naturalized Protectionism and Welfare Cuts in the 1980s-90s"!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Andrew Ross
Ohio University

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates