FTGS Convention Award

Feminist Theory and Gender Studies (FTGS) created the Inclusion and Transformation Sub-Committee in 2019 to decenter whiteness and western-dominated perspectives in the workings of the ISA generally and FTGS in particular in order to move beyond “diversity” and provoke transformative change in the field. The committee oversees the annual FTGS Convention Award in support of applicants committed to feminist perspectives and affiliated with or graduating from institutions that do not enjoy significant resource and geographical privilege, with non-western, marginalized, and precaritized scholars given first consideration. Among that group, priority is given to those in their final years of graduate work completion through to their first years of their post-doctoral career.

Awardees should have a paper accepted for presentation at the ISA Convention. Nominees should demonstrate in their application their need for the award; a lack of institutional support, including precarity; and the significance of their participation in the Convention. While nominees do not need to be members of ISA or FTGS, their application should demonstrate an intention of forward-looking engagement with the FTGS Section, ISA organization, and ISA conventions. Awardees must become members of ISA and FTGS to receive the award, and a portion of the award funds can be used to this end.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.


For the 2022 ISA Convention, we are offering $400 for virtual participants and $800 for in-person participants. Funds will
be disbursed upon proof of registration, panel / roundtable acceptance (to any section of ISA) and ISA/FTGS membership.
No receipts or expense forms will be required: the award is in the full sum, to be disposed of in the manner that best supports
convention participation for the awardees. In light of the online & in person format of the 2022 ISA Convention, costs may
be used to cover technology, internet access, child or other care, etc. or for travel expenses, accommodation, visa fees, child
care etc. If needed the award may be used to cover membership costs to ISA/FTGS (Please note that membership is a
stipulation for fund disbursement, but not for nomination



  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA/FTGS (though this is not a requirement at point of nomination)
  2. Nominations/Applicants are asked to submit their CV and a 1-page letter outlining their case for support, detailing the following:
  • The significance of their presentation and of their attendance at the annual convention to their ongoing research program (e.g., response to referee/ evaluation)
  • Projected costs of attendance, including technology needs for remote access
  • Any institutional support or alternative resources available
  • Intention of ongoing engagement with the FTGS Section, ISA organization, and ISA conventions
  • Any other information establishing their status as late graduate students/early career scholars who lack geographical and other privilege; engage from non-western, marginalized populations/perspectives; and/or experience precarity as scholars
  • A $400.00 (USD) & $800 (USD) cash prize will be awarded to 2-4 recipients. No more than $400 (USD) will be awarded for virtual participation. 
  • The FTGS Inclusion and Transformation Sub-Committee will inform applicants of the outcome in late mid-December 2021.
  • Applications should be sent to Committee Chair, Khushi Singh Rathore (Khushi Singh Rathore), by
    Monday, 8 November 2021.



Congratulations to Ayako Kobayashi, Huey Fen Cheong, Sharmila Parmanand, and Ariel Mekler, the 2021 recipients of the FTGS Convention Award! See the previous recipients below.

Year Recipient(s)
2021 Ayako Kobayashi, Huey Fen Cheong, Sharmila Parmanand, and Ariel Mekler
2020 Claudia Zanardi and Ariel Mekler
2019 Khushi Singh Rathore and Amanda Ferreira

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates