FTGS Book Prize

FTGS annually awards a prize for new publications making a substantial contribution to our understanding of international studies and global politics through feminist theory and gender studies.

The award recognizes a book published in the preceding two calendar years that excels in originality, impact, and rigor towards furthering feminist theory and gender studies within the discipline of international relations.


Please click to expand any heading below for more information.


  1. Recipients must be current members of ISA and FTGS section, or be willing to join ISA and FTGS section when the award is granted.
  2. Books must have been published in the two preceding calendar years (i.e. the book must have an official publication date of 2021 or 2022 for nomination this year). Books that were previously nominated are not eligible for nomination in the following year.
  3. Nominators/ nominees are responsible for making sure the publisher provides 7 copies of the nominated book for the committee by July 10, 2022.
  • The winner, and finalists will be announced in December.
  • It will be awarded at the ISA conference the following Spring.
  • Deadline: July 10, 2022.
  • The Paperwork: Please send your nomination and a 300-500 words case about the significance and originality of the work.
  • Where to submit the nomination: Anwar Mhajne (amhajne@stonehill.edu).



Congratulations to Sylvia Tamale, the 2022 recipient of the FTGS Book Prize, for Decolonization and Afro-Feminism! Honorable mentions were awarded to Ray Acheson for Banning the Bomb, Smashing the Patriarchy, Philipp Schulz for Male Survivors of War Time Sexual Violence, and Durba Mitra for Indian Sex Life: Sexuality and the Colonial Orgins of Modern Social Thought. See the previous recipients below.


Year Recipient Title
2021 Rauna Kuokkanen Restructuring Relations: Indigenous Self-Determination, Governance, and Gender
2020 Sara Motta Title not provided



Anwar Mhajne | Chair
Stonehill College

Toni Haastrup | Member
University of Stirling

Punam Yadav | Member
University College London (UCL)

Theresa de Langis | Member
American University of Phnom Penh

Itziar Mujika Chao | Member
University of Basque Country

Ola Yacob-Haliso | Member
Babcock University

Maria Tanyag | Member
Australian National University

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates