ENMISA Distinguished Scholar Award

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA
  2. Nominees should have a substantial record of publishing in the field and service to ISA
  3. Award recipients must be able to attend the 2021 ISA Annual Convention, where the awardee will be honored in a panel and at a reception.


  • Award will be presented at the ENMISA Business Meeting at the ISA Annual Convention

Selection Process

  • A Call for Nominations is announced
  • ENMISA members nominate senior scholars who have had an impact in Ethnicity and/or Nationalism and/or Migration studies, and preferably, scholars who have a history of ISA attendance
  • The Distinguished Scholar Committee, selected every year at the ENMISA business meeting, then reviews the nominations and decides who the Distinguished Scholar will be
  • In the annual convention, the colleagues of the distinguished scholar gather at a roundtable in honor of the scholar, and discuss the significance of her/his work
  • The award itself is extended either during the business meeting, the roundtable or the reception

Apply or Nominate for the ENMISA Distinguished Scholar Award

Nominations Process

  • Nominations need to be accompanied by a supporting letter, written by a scholar other than the nominee and the nominee's curriculum vitae
  • All materials must be sent by email to the committee members
  • The deadline for nominations is June 22,2020.
  • If you are nominating a scholar, please make sure to have the nominee's consent first


Congratulations to Susan Martin, 2020's recipient of the ENMISA Distinguished Scholar Award!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Maria Koinova | Chair
Warwick University

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates