ENMISA Distinguished Book Award

The ENMISA Book Award, sponsored by the ENMISA Section, recognizes the best book published over the past two years in the study of the international politics of ethnicity, nationalism or migration. The criteria for the award include the originality of the argument presented, quality of the research, ability to draw on the insights of multiple disciplines, innovative methods or methodological syntheses, readability of the text and the policy or practical implications of the scholarship. The Award Committee is particularly interested in books that engage multiple areas of analytical interest to ENMISA members.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. At the time of nomination at least one author must be a current member of ISA.
  2. Recipients must be a current member of ISA
  3. To be eligible for the 2019 award, books must have been published in 2017 or 2018
  4.  Recipients are expected to attend the award ceremony at the 2019 ISA Annual Convention in Toronto (March 27-30, 2018)


  • The recipient will receive a plaque at the awards presentations at the annual ISA Annual Convention.

Selection Process

  • Committee members will assess all entries according to the following criteria:
  • Relevance of the argument to key areas of ethnicity, nationalism and/or migration;
  • Originality of the argument;
  • Quality of the research;
  • Ability to draw on the insights of multiple disciplines;
  • Innovative methods or methodological syntheses;
  • Readability of the text;
  • Policy or practical implications of the scholarship.
  • Nominations and books need to be received by August 15th, 2018. For specific questions regarding the selection process, contact the Committee Chair, Bahar Baser

Submit a nomination for the ENMISA Distinguished Book Award

The deadline for nominations is August 15th.

  • To nominate a book for the award, the publisher or the author should send a copy of the book to each committee member, with the line ‘ENMISA Distinguished Book Award” under the name of the committee member in the address.
  • All nominations must be accompanied by a short cover letter (1-page at most) that discusses why the book is nominated for the award.
  • Self nominations are welcome.
  • Nominations and books need to be received by August 15th, 2018. Please continue to the Meet the Committee page for their address information.
  • Recipients

    Congratulations to Gerard Toel, (Near abroad: Putin, the West, and the contest over Ukraine and the Caucasus), 2019 recipient of the ENMISA Distinguished Book Award!

    For a list of past recipients, please check below.

    Past Recipients


    Bahar Baser | Chair
    Coventry University, CTPSR & Stellenbosch University

    Meet the Committee

    Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

    Key Dates

    The International Studies Association

    Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
    Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use