Dina Zinnes Award

This award is presented by the Scientific Study of International Processes Section (SSIP).

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA
  2. Nominations must be graduate student papers presented at a panel or poster session sponsored by the SSIP section or the Convention Theme at the prior year’s Annual Convention


  • A $100.00 (USD) cash prize and and a certificate is awarded to the recipient
  • Award will be presented at the SSIP Business Meeting at the ISA Annual Convention

Selection Process

  • A three-member committee will deliberate and select a recipient
  • Decisions will be made regarding awardees by August

Apply for the Dina Zinnes Award

Nominations should be sent by email to Erica Chenoweth (the Award Chair) at erica_chenoweth@hks.harvard.edu by May 1st


Congratulations to Jessica Edry, author of “Mastering the Double-Edged Sword: How Shallow Commitments to Human Rights Treaties Deepen over Time”  and recipient of the 2019 Dina Zinnes Award!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Erica Chenoweth | Section Chair
March 2019-April 2021
Harvard University

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use