DPLST Young Scholar Award

This biennial award is presented to the young scholar whose oeuvre of research best advances the theoretical and empirical study of diplomacy. The next DPLST Young Scholar Award will be given at ISA 2020.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current members of ISA.
  2. Scholars within six years of having obtained their PhD by the award deadline of October 1, 2019


  • Certificate is presented to the recipient at the ISA Annual Convention.

Selection Process

  • Scholars may be self-nominated or nominated by others. Nominations must include a short cover letter description of the body of work and how it contributes to the study of diplomacy, a current CV, and one example of recent work, ideally solo-authored. Nominations should be sent to the committee chair, Antoaneta Vanc, who will disseminate the nominations to the entire search committee. The submission deadline is October 1, 2019.
  • Winners are strongly expected to participate in the next year’s selection committee.


Award not given in 2019


Key Dates

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use