DPLST Distinguished Scholar Award

The Diplomatic Studies Distinguished Scholar Award is presented annually at the ISA annual convention to recognize and honor a scholar whose work has had substantial influence on the study of diplomacy.

General Information


  • The recipient will receive a plaque at the ISA annual convention.
  • A roundtable celebrating the contributions of the recipient to the study of diplomacy will be organized by the DPSLST section for the ISA annual convention.

Eligibility and Award Criteria

  1. Nominees should have a substantial and innovative research record on diplomacy and an impressive record of service to the community of diplomacy students and scholars.
  2. The recipient must be a current member of ISA and the Diplomatic Studies Section. Non-Members must join ISA and the Diplomatic Studies Section to receive the award.
  3. Scholars who have previously received this award are not eligible for nomination.
  4. Past nominees will automatically be considered for the consecutive two years.

Selection Process

  • The recipient will be selected by the DPLST Awards Committee.
  • The recipient will be selected based on (a) the quality and significance of the research; and (b) the record of service to the community of diplomacy students and scholars.
  • The award will be announced at the end of November, 2019.

Nomination Information

  1. Nominations must be made by members of the Diplomatic Studies Section.
  2. Self-nominations are not accepted.
  3. Nominations should consist of (a) a nominating letter outlining the contributions of the nominee to the study of diplomacy, in terms of research and service; and (b) a CV of the nominee.
  4. 2020 award information: please send your nomination letter to the 2020 section chair, Simon Rofe and 2020 chair of the DPLST awards committee Antoaneta Vanc. The deadline for nominations for the 2020 award to be presented in Honolulu is October 1, 2019.


Congratulations to Andrew F. Cooper and Brian Rathbun, the 2018-2019 recipients of the DPLST Distinguished Scholar Award!


Antoaneta Vanc (Chair)

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use