DPLST Book Prize

This biennial award is presented to the author(s) of the book that best advances the theoretical and empirical study of diplomacy. We especially welcome books that attempt to connect the study of diplomacy with broader issues and trends in the discipline.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA.
  2. The book must have a publish date within the past two calendar years (i.e. awards at ISA 2019 will be given for books published in 2018 or 2017).


  • Certificate is presented to the recipient at the ISA Annual Convention.

Selection Process

  • Winners are strongly expected to participate in the follow year’s book award selection committee.

Apply For This Award

  • Books may be self-nominated or nominated by others. The submission deadline is December 31, 2018. Electronic versions of books are preferred (and if available should be emailed to Antoaneta Vanc, who will disseminate the book to the entire selection committee). If only hard copies are available then publishers should arrange for books to be sent directly to all of the book award committee members.


Congratulations to Karen Yarhi-Milo and Todd H. Hall, 2016's co-recipients of the DPLST Book Award!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Key Dates

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use