Bertha Lutz Award [DPLST]

The Diplomatic Studies Section (DPLST) of the International Studies Association (ISA) invites nominations for the Bertha Lutz Prize. In 2017 the DPLST, in cooperation with the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD) at SOAS – University of London, established the prize to award a scholar who is considered to be conducting the highest quality public writing and research on women in diplomacy, defined broadly. 

In 1945 Dr. Bertha Lutz of Brazil was instrumental in the inclusion of Article 8 in the UN Charter which provides the legal basis for gender equality in the UN system and was central to other mentions of gender equality in the Charter. The importance of Article 8 as a foundation stone in the post-war expansion of gender equality in international society cannot be over estimated.

Dr. Bertha Lutz’s instrumental role in signing the United Nations Charter was rediscovered in the academy by Torild Skard, Norwegian diplomat, parliamentarian and scholar, in her foundational article, Getting Our History Right (Forum for Development Studies 1, 2008). The groundwork provided by these two women: by Lutz’s pioneering endeavours and Skard’s foundational article, has been expanded through further primary research and theoretical conceptualisation by students and scholars at SOAS's Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy. This work has resulted in a number of scholarly publications and coverage in Le Monde Diplomatique, a conference at the UN in Geneva and press conference at the UN in New York through the project Women and the UN Charter. 

The Diplomatic Studies Section believes that Dr. Lutz’ recognition as a pioneering leader of the woman suffrage is long overdue, and hopes that this prize will continue to honour her and increase awareness of her historic accomplishments by ISA.




Please click to expand any heading below for more information.

  1. The award should be given to an individual deemed to producing the highest quality public writing on ‘women in diplomacy’ (broadly defined).
  2. The award is open to all current ISA members (not solely members of the Diplomatic Studies Section)​
  • The award includes a $500 award, furnished by CISD at SOAS.
  • The award will be awarded at the 2022 ISA DPLST business meeting.
  • Nominations (including self-nominations) should take the form of a statement of less than 250 words on why the individual nominated should be considered for the award as well as a current CV. Selection criteria include the quality of published work and therefore the nomination should reference relevant publications.
  • Nominations should be sent to the chair of the award committee, Eric Grynaviski.
  • Please apply to the Award Committee by October 1, 2021.
  • Winners are strongly expected to participate in the following year’s award selection committee.


Congratulations to Susan Harris Rimmer, the 2021 recipient of the Bertha Lutz Award!

Year Recipient
2021 Susan Harris Rimmer


Eric Grynaviski | Chair
George Washington University

Award Chairs, please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates