Steven C. Poe Best Graduate Student Paper Award

The Steven C. Poe Graduate Student Paper Award is given to the author of the best paper presented at the ISA Annual Convention by a graduate student. The Award is accompanied by a one-year paid membership of ISA and Human Rights Section dues (see below). The author of the paper for which the award is given is also invited to submit the paper to the Journal of Human Rights for expedited review and consideration for publication.

General Information

Eligibility and Award Criteria

  1. Papers must be of original research in the field of human rights. Eligible papers may come from panels or poster sessions sponsored by any organized Section, or sponsored under the Conference Theme.
  2. Recipients must be members of ISA and of the Human Rights Section at the time the award is presented at the ISA Annual Meeting. If the recipient is not a member of ISA and/or the Human Rights Section at the time the award is offered, the recipient may choose to apply the membership benefit of the award prior to presentation at the annual meeting. Recipients who are already members at the time the award is offered will be able to apply the Membership benefit the following year.


  • The award will be accompanied by a paid one-year membership in ISA and the Human Rights Section.
  • Author(s) of the winning paper should submit their manuscript to The Journal of Human Rights for expedited review and consideration for publication. Please follow the online submission guidelines available at:

Selection Process

  • Nominations are reviewed by the Award Committee The three member committee is appointed by the ISA President with the concurrency of the Governing Council. Their two year term officially begin with the ISA Governing Council meeting of the first year listed and end with the closing of the ISA Governing Council meeting of the final year listed.
  • The Committee Chair is responsible for sending award information to the ISA Award Coordinator and for notifying the recipient of the award and encouraging the recipient to attend the Annual Convention at which the award is to be presented so as to receive the award in person.

Apply For This Award

Nomination Information

  • Nominated papers must be uploaded to the ISA Conference Paper archive.
  • Nominations may be made by panel chairs, discussants, co-panelists and human rights section members. Self-nominations are also invited. 
  • Nominations should be directed via email to the Chair of the Poe Award Committee

    no later than June 15th of each year

  • Deadline for nomination has been extended to August 15,2019.


The 2019 Stephen C. Poe Award, given annually to the best paper presented by a student, will go to Jeonghyeon Kim for “The Politics of Refugees: Comparative Case Studies on Canada and Australia"

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Tina Kempin Reuter | Chair
April 2019 - March 2020
University of Alabama

Kristi Kenyon | Member
April 2019 - March 2020
University of Winnipeg

Jacqueline McAllister | Member
April 2019 - March 2020
Kenyon College

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use