Patricia Weitsman Award [ISSS]

The Patricia Weitsman Award for Outstanding ISSS Graduate Paper recognizes the best graduate student paper on any aspect of security studies.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  • Recipient must be a current member of ISA.
  • Recipient must have been a graduate student at the time the paper was delivered.
  • Nominated papers must have been delivered at the 2019 ISSS-IS conference held at the University of Denver or accepted for the program of the 2020 ISA Annual Convention in Honolulu.i nee


Selection Process

  • Papers must be nominated according to the application process described below.
  • The selection will be made by the ISSS Best Article and Paper Award Committee.



  • The recipient of this award will receive a plaque and a $500 prize, which will be distributed at a reception of the ISA Annual Convention in Las Vegas in 2021.

Apply or Nominate for the Award

Application Process

  • Nominations may come from faculty supervisors or mentors, as well as panel chairs or discussants at the above-mentioned conferences.
  • To nominate a paper, send a full PDF copy of the paper, along with a one-paragraph justification for the nomination, to the selection committee chair, Bear Braumoeller.
  • The deadline for nominations is July 15, 2020.


Congratulations to Audrey Wong (Princeton University) for “Reaping What You Sow: Public Accountability and the Effectiveness of China's Economic Statecraft", the 2020 recipient of the Patricia Weitsman Award!

For a list of past recipients, please check below.

Past Recipients


Bear Braumoeller | Chair
Ohio State University

Meet the Committee

Award Chairs please review dates to ensure deadlines are met.

Key Dates